Octa Automatique Réserve
Octa Automatique Réserve Havana
Octa Automatique Lune
Octa Automatique Lune Havana
Octa Réserve de Marche
Octa Lune
Octa Chronographe
Octa Calendrier
OCTA Collection

Octa Chronographe Calibre 1300.3 FP Journe FP Journe

White Gold dial
Blued Steel hands
Platinum case
Finishing
White Gold dial
Blued Steel hands
Platinum case
Calibre 1300.3

Technical Specifications

Movement :

    Automatic Winding
    22K Gold rotor
    Speed: 120 hours = 1h30 on a Chappuis cyclotest

Dimensions :
  • Overall diameter : 30 mm
  • Thickness : 5.70 mm
Characteristics :

    Straight line silver escapement
    Dedicated 4 arm balance with intertial adjustment
    Plates and bridges in 18K rose Gold

FREQUENCY :

    21'600 Alt/H, 3Hz

Number of jewels :

    32

Number of pieces :

    254


At the heart of the movement
Brevet - EP 1 760 544 A1
fpjourne
Technical description

The Octa Chronographe is fitted with a fly-back and return-to-zero functions, as well as a 60-minute counter. The date is shown on the dial by large-sized separate numerals, according to a patented display mode. The guilloché silver hour, minute and small second sub dials are screwed with a steel circle to the 18-carat gold watch face.
Other views
fpjourne

About

This model was produced between 2005 and 2008

The first Chronograph wristwatch with flyback and large date offering a power reserve of 120 hours.

With the Octa Chronographe, François-Paul Journe revolutionise the classical conception of the chronograph. Integrated within the Octa automatic winding calibre measuring 30,80 mm in diameter and 5.70 mm in thickness, the chronograph is housed in a space of only 1 mm thick. This space is also occupied by the twin concentric large date display discs. To achieve such a performance, François-Paul Journe imagined flattening the usual column wheel to transform it into a cam wheel. This means it is the profile rim instead of the column which actions the chronograph levers. A single sliding lever returns the chronograph seconds and minutes to zero by disengaging the brakes at the precise moment when it hits the specially profiled reset parts.

These two innovations make it possible to reduce the mechanism to three levels. In this more compact version, the result is a sturdy movement ensuring long term reliability.

It is fitted with a fly-back and return-to-zero functions, as well as a 60-minute counter. The date is shown on the dial by large-sized separate numerals, according to a patented display mode. The guilloché silver hour, minute and small second sub dials are screwed with a steel circle to the 18-carat gold watch face.

Testimony
Calibre OCTA

A horological ideal

“The construction of the Octa calibre has less powerful ties with horological history than do the constant-force device or resonance models, but it symbolises an horological ideal of giving timekeepers the highest possible degree of precision and autonomy!

One can indeed note the fact that if church clocks are placed so high, in addition to enhancing visibility, it was mostly because it often took an entire month for the driving-weights to drop the length of their cords. Numerous systems were invented to increase the operating duration of timekeeping devices, meeting with various degrees of success. Given the small volume of a wristwatch, the size of the mainspring was automatically limited. Watchmakers therefore discovered the trick of adding an extra wheel to the customary geartrain in order to extend the duration of its development. Unfortunately, actually using this system, even with a stronger spring, led them to observe that the level of energy actually reaching the balance remained low. To compensate for this, they fitted a smaller balance using less energy, but which was also less stable. It is therefore not unusual to find that some watches able to run for several days display an extremely unpredictable level of precision.

This challenge was a powerful source of motivation! I then imagined that the best and the most obvious means of extending the running duration would be to extend the capacity of the spring development. The difficulty lay in integrating it on the same level as the gear-train and the escapement, given its stability: 1 metre and 1 millimetre thick. Thanks to the low torque of this spring, I could achieve extremely fast automatic winding (one and a half hours on a Chappuis cyclotest for over 5 days’ running).

Once the challenge of autonomy was thus successfully met with this automatic winding calibre, I knuckled down to the second challenge of managing to insert various complications into that same movement: power reserve with large date display, fly-back chronograph with large date display, retrograde annual calendar, etc… and of doing so while maintaining an identical size for all models in the Octa collection.

Three years of research and development were required before this automatic winding movement that is unique in the world could be presented to the public.”


François-Paul Journe

Technical Specifications

Movement :

    Automatic Winding
    22K Gold rotor
    Speed: 120 hours = 1h30 on a Chappuis cyclotest

Dimensions :
  • Overall diameter : 30 mm
  • Thickness : 5.70 mm
Characteristics :

    Straight line silver escapement
    Dedicated 4 arm balance with intertial adjustment
    Plates and bridges in 18K rose Gold

FREQUENCY :

    21'600 Alt/H, 3Hz

Number of jewels :

    32

Number of pieces :

    254


At the heart of the movement
Brevet - EP 1 760 544 A1
fpjourne
Technical description

The Octa Chronographe is fitted with a fly-back and return-to-zero functions, as well as a 60-minute counter. The date is shown on the dial by large-sized separate numerals, according to a patented display mode. The guilloché silver hour, minute and small second sub dials are screwed with a steel circle to the 18-carat gold watch face.

Octa Automatique Réserve
Octa Automatique Lune
Octa Automatique Réserve Havana
Octa Automatique Lune Havana
Octa Réserve de Marche
Octa Lune
Octa Calendrier
Octa Chronographe
Collection OCTA

Octa Chronographe Calibre 1300.3 FP Journe FP Journe

Cadran Or gris
Aiguilles Acier bleui
Boîtier Platine
Finitions
Cadran Or gris
Aiguilles Acier bleui
Boîtier Platine
Calibre 1300.3

Fiche technique du mouvement

Mouvement :

    Remontage Automatique
    Rotor en Or 22 ct.
    Vitesse: 120 heures = 1h30 sur cyclotest Chappuis

Dimensions :
  • Diamètre total : 30 mm
  • Épaisseur : 5.70 mm
Caractéristiques :

    Echappement ancre en ligne
    Balancier spécifique à 4 bras avec réglage intertiel
    Platines et ponts en Or rose 18 ct.

Fréquence :

    21 600 Alt/H, 3Hz

Nbre de pierres :

    32 Rubis

Nbre de pièces :

    254


Au coeur du mouvement
Brevet - EP 1 760 544 A1
fpjourne
Description technique

Le Chronographe Octa est doté d'un retour-en-vol, d'une fonction de remise à zéro et d'un compteur de 60 minutes. Sur le cadran, la date apparaît en grande dimension, selon un mode d’affichage breveté. Les cadrans des heures, minutes et petite seconde, en argent guilloché, sont vissés avec un cerclage en acier sur la face de la montre en Or 18 ct.
Vues de la montre
fpjourne

A propos

Cette montre a été produite entre 2005 et 2008

La première montre bracelet chronographe avec flyback et grande date possédant une réserve de marche de 120 heures.

Avec le Chronographe Octa, François-Paul Journe révolutionne la conception classique du chronographe. Intégrée au calibre Octa automatique de 30,80 mm de diamètre et 5.70 mm d'épaisseur, cette complication se loge sous le cadran dans un espace de 1 mm de hauteur. Cet espace est également occupé par les disques jumeaux concentriques du grand affichage de la date. Pour parvenir à cette performance, François-Paul Journe a imaginé d’aplanir la roue à colonne habituelle pour la transformer en roue à cames. Ainsi, ce sont les bords profilés qui agissent sur les leviers du chronographe. Un simple levier coulissant remet à zéro les secondes et les minutes du chronographe, en désengageant les freins au moment ou il heurte les pièces spécialement profilées pour la remise à zéro des aiguilles.

Ces deux innovations permettent à l'ensemble du mécanisme d'être réduit à trois niveaux.
Témoignage
Calibre OCTA

Un Idéal horloger

«La construction du calibre Octa possède moins de lien à caractère fort avec l'histoire de l'horlogerie que ne l'ont le remontoir d'égalité ou la résonance, mais il symbolise un idéal horloger: donner aux garde-temps le plus de précision et d'autonomie possible!

On peut observer, par ailleurs, que si les horloges de clochers sont placées si haut, outre pour une meilleure visibilité, c'est avant tout parce que la longueur de descente des poids moteurs durait souvent un mois. De nombreux systèmes furent inventés, avec plus ou moins de réussite, afin d'augmenter la durée de marche des garde-temps. La montre-bracelet possédant un petit volume, celui du ressort ne pouvait qu’être limité. Ainsi les horlogers trouvèrent l'astuce de mettre une roue de plus dans le rouage habituel afin d'en rallonger la durée de développement. Malheureusement, en utilisant ce système, même avec un ressort plus fort, ils constatèrent que l'énergie arrivant au balancier était faible. Pour compenser, ils mirent un balancier plus petit qui consommait moins d'énergie, perdant cependant de sa stabilité. Il n'est, de ce fait, pas rare de constater que certaines montres fonctionnant plusieurs jours, ont une précision très aléatoire.

Ce défi me motivait au plus haut point! J'imaginais alors que la meilleure solution et la plus évidente pour allonger la durée de marche, serait d'augmenter la capacité de développement du ressort. La difficulté fut de l'intégrer au même niveau que le rouage et l'échappement, compte tenu de sa stabilité: 1 mètre sur 1 millimètre de hauteur. Le couple de ce ressort étant faible, je pouvais avoir un remontage automatique très rapide (1 heure 30 en cyclotest Chappuis pour plus de cinq jours de marche).

Le défi de l'autonomie étant alors gagné avec ce calibre automatique, je m'attelais alors à un second défi: celui d'arriver à insérer sur le même mouvement, des complications telles que:
réserve de marche avec grande date, chronographe fly-back avec grande date, calendrier annuel rétrograde, etc. Tout en conservant une taille identique à tous ces modèles de
la collection Octa.

Trois ans de recherches et de développements ont été nécessaires avant que ce calibre automatique, unique au monde, soit proposé au public.»

François-Paul Journe

Fiche technique du mouvement

Mouvement :

    Remontage Automatique
    Rotor en Or 22 ct.
    Vitesse: 120 heures = 1h30 sur cyclotest Chappuis

Dimensions :
  • Diamètre total : 30 mm
  • Épaisseur : 5.70 mm
Caractéristiques :

    Echappement ancre en ligne
    Balancier spécifique à 4 bras avec réglage intertiel
    Platines et ponts en Or rose 18 ct.

Fréquence :

    21 600 Alt/H, 3Hz

Nbre de pierres :

    32 Rubis

Nbre de pièces :

    254


Au coeur du mouvement
Brevet - EP 1 760 544 A1
fpjourne
Description technique

Le Chronographe Octa est doté d'un retour-en-vol, d'une fonction de remise à zéro et d'un compteur de 60 minutes. Sur le cadran, la date apparaît en grande dimension, selon un mode d’affichage breveté. Les cadrans des heures, minutes et petite seconde, en argent guilloché, sont vissés avec un cerclage en acier sur la face de la montre en Or 18 ct.